Health · Pregnancy

20 weeks today

20wkmark-previousbellies
L: 20 weeks, first pregnancy in 2008. R: 20 weeks, second pregnancy in 2012.

Every pregnancy is different, even with the same woman. I am feeling extremely big for 20 weeks, compared to my previous two pregnancies.

Mind you, I was carrying extra weight already prior to this pregnancy, so I already had a flabby belly to begin with. I am 8 kilogram heavier at the start of the pregnancy this time, compared to my first one in 2008.

I have been told that you always carry your first baby smaller because your stomach has not been stretched that way before, so everything is still held together quite tightly. And with each consecutive pregnancy, your belly shows sooner and sooner. Not sure whether this backed by scientific evidence hehe.

FullSizeRender 3
20 weeks, third pregnancy in 2017

At 20 weeks, I look very pregnant and it’s undeniable. With the previous pregnancies, at the same stage, I could get away with just looking like I had a big lunch.

My doctor said I was measuring at 22 weeks when I had my checkup at 18 weeks. “It’s a good thing you’re having your morphology scan next week, so we can really know how big the baby is,” he said.

Luckily, at my ultrasound last week, the radiologist (do we call medical professionals who do ultrasounds radiologist?) measured the baby and he is on the dot measuring at 19 weeks. *phew*

My husband was a 10-pound baby so I’ve been scared of having a huge boulder pass through me!

On the plus side, my tiredness has finally lifted. The first trimester was really tough for me this time because I was doing two school pickups every day since Miss A still only finishes at noon. And I struggled to stay awake through lunch most days! It was very hard to get off the couch and avoid falling asleep this time.

I’ve even had to let go of doing housework and laundry in any sort of regularity since early February. This extreme lethargy is only meant to be in the first trimester but it continued well into my second. There are afternoons where I still need naps, but at least I’ve had the energy to cook dinner and do dishes again since last week.

Narcolepsy really is the worst of my pregnancy symptoms ever, and I have been lucky to avoid suffering from morning sickness, nausea, food aversions and food cravings.

I am crossing my fingers that I don’t get gestational diabetes the third time round. Apparently my age is more a factor than my diet. And out of all the pregnancy tests, I really hate the glucose tolerance test where you need to down a sickly sweet drink within five minutes. The last time it made me gag and almost throw up.

Halfway already … if the last four months were anything to go by, this baby boy will be here before we know it!

 

 

Leave a Reply

